mug cake ˘⌣˘

thank God to the long Chinese New Year weekend!! This CNY, I’ve been helping myself to tons of treats and I feel gross (๑´ㅂ`๑) But it’s CNY so remember to enjoy! It’s not like you eat like this every day. Just remember the balance and you’ll be fine. How can you resist love letters, peanut cookies, kueh bangkit, green pea cookies…. (。♥‿♥。)

Yesterday, I invited my friends Leeah and Ruth over to my house. We had a blast 🙂 It was just a simple meeting, not too fancy or too planned. We played Just Dance, which decided to fail on us while Ruth and I were dancing to ‘Problem’. Yeah, a total PROBLEM all right! We then decided to watch Pitch Perfect, which I’ve been wanting to watch!! We danced and watched  with tons of food of course.

Ruth had to go back after the movie (。•́︿•̀。)  so it was left with (lame) Leeah, my brother Adam and I! We continued eating some more (because yolo) then went out to play ball. I suck at sports but I kinda try.

I was craving for chocolate (because  the red sea is apparently coming in 2 days) so I thought of baking a mug cake with Leeah!!! I’ve always wanted to try but couldn’t find the right time to. I started searching for mug cake recipes on Pinterest, which is my go-to app for inspiration now 🙂 I first tagged ‘healthy’ but Leeah objected to that idea so… *cries* We found a decent recipe and got started on it!

TOTAL YUMMM
TOTAL YUMMM

as you can tell from the picture above, our pouring skills are fantastic.

thank God for microwaves
thank God for microwaves

CHOCOLATE MUG CAKE

{recipe adapted from Table for Two}

INGREDIENTS:

1/4 cup all purpose flour (REMEMBER TO SIFT. you definitely do not want sad clumps of white stuff in your cake do you?)

2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 tsp baking powder

2 tbsp granulated sugar

1/8 tsp salt

1/4 cup + 1 tbsp milk (weird measurement but deal with it)

2 tbsp vegetable oil (I used olive oil instead)

1 tbsp hazelnut chocolate spread (try using peanut butter and tell me how it goes! I used Nutella and I found the mug cake to be too chocolatey)

STEPS:

1. Whisk all dry ingredients in a bowl.

2. Whisk in the milk and oil until all ingredients are nicely combined with no clumps.

3. Pour batter into a microwave-safe mug. You want enough head space for the cake to rise without spilling.

4. Add the tablespoon of spread into the middle of the batter. No need to push down.

5. Place a paper towel into the microwave and set the mug on top, just in case it overflows.

6. Microwave the mug cake for 70 seconds on high.

7. Carefully remove from microwave and DIG IN AND YUM

mug shot 2

yumyumyum
yumyumyum

mug shot 3

all the best for next week !!!!

Leave a Reply

